The race is on in earnest for Capricornia

Ballot paper places have been settled for hot seat

Federal Election National News

A swag of candidates will vie for favour with Capricornia voters when the nation goes to the polls on May 18

The ballot paper for the 2019 election for Capricornia

The ballot paper for the 2019 election for Capricornia

VOTERS will choose from nine candidates for the seat of Capricornia at the federal election on May 18.

The major parties are vying for votes along with the minors and an independent.

Earlier today the draw for positions on the ballot paper was undertaken and Paul Bambrick (Greens) landed the top spot, a position sometimes ticked by voters choosing the so-called "donkey option".

George Birkbeck (Katter's Australia Party) has position number two and Richard Temple (Labour DLP) is at three while Ken Murray (Ind) has spot four.

Incumbent Michelle Landry (LNP) is next and Russell Robertson (ALP) is at position six on the paper.

Wade Rothery (Pauline Hanson's One Nation) is next at seven ahead of Lindsay Sturgeon (United Australia Party) and Grant Pratt (Fraser Anning's Conservative National Party) rounds out the nine.

Ms Landry, undaunted by being in the middle of the pack, is supremely optimistic about retaining the seat in what would be her third straight electoral win.

"I have delivered millions of dollars of improvements to this region. We're getting on with the job and I am ready for this," she said.

However, she would not be drawn on the specifics of preference shares, saying that wold be a matter for head office and other discussions.


From the front page

Sponsored by