Mark Furner named Qld agriculture minister | Full cabinet list

Brisbane dominates new look Palaszczuk cabinet

NEW FACE: Brisbane MP Mark Furner has been named Queensland's new agriculture minister.

NEW FACE: Brisbane MP Mark Furner has been named Queensland's new agriculture minister.


Brisbane MP Mark Furner has been named Queensland's new agriculture minister.


RESPONSIBILITY for Queensland’s $20 billion agricultural sector has been handed to Brisbane MP Mark Furner, the previous minister for Local Government and Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships. 

The 59 year old former union official has significant political experience including being a Labor senator in 2008-14. The appointment is seen as something of a move away from the previous L-plate treatment of rural Queensland.

Mr Furner is currently the member for Ferny Grove, a 44 square kilometre electorate on the north side of Brisbane. He entered Queensland parliament in 2015.

 Anthony Lynham has retained the natural resources, mines and energy portfolio. Of particular interest to landholders will be Dr Lynham’s handling of leasehold land, which makes up about 76 per cent of Queensland. Dr Lynham is also a Brisbane-based MP representing the seat of Stafford, which covers 19sq km. 

Environment minister Steven Miles has been promoted to health and ambulance services. Dr Miles was replaced by Leeanne Enoch, who will administer the environment and Great Barrier Reef, science and arts portfolios. 

Ms Enoch is a former school teacher and is the first indigenous woman elected to the Queensland Parliament. She holds the seat of Algester on Brisbane’s southside, which covers 60sq km.

Despite 16 of the 18 cabinet members coming from Brisbane, Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk said her government was the right mix of experience and regional representation to deliver greater economic prosperity and government services for all Queenslanders.

In fact, the only cabinet members from outside the Brisbane region are Cairns-based MP Craig Crawford and Townsville-based MP Coralee O’Rourke.

“Our job – over the next 1000 days - is to ensure all Queenslanders win whether it is winning with the opportunity for work; or winning with access to quality healthcare for them and their loved ones; or winning with best possible education for our children and access to skills and training for those joining or re-joining the workforce,” Ms Palaszczuk said.

“Our government – of 25 men and 23 women - represents a state that will be soon be home to five million people spread across more than 1.7 million square kilometres.”

“Our government will be as hard-working and as decent as the Queenslanders we represent. We will listen to Queenslanders and we will deliver for Queenslanders.

“As Premier, I am determined that every day we keep our focus on the concerns and hopes of Queenslanders no matter where they live and how they voted.”

The new look Palaszczuk cabinet is:

• Premier and Minister for Trade, Annastacia Palaszczuk.

• Deputy Premier, Treasurer and Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships, Jackie Trad.

• State Development, Infrastructure and Planning and Manufacturing, Cameron Dick.

• Innovation, Tourism Industry Development, and the Commonwealth Games, Kate Jones.

• Attorney-General, Minister for Justice and Leader of the House, Yvette D’Ath.

• Health and Ambulance Services, Steven Miles.

• Education and Industrial relations, Grace Grace.

• Transport and Main Roads Mark Bailey.

• Natural Resources, Mines and Energy, Anthony Lynham.

• Housing and Public Works, Digital Technology and Sport, Mick de Brenni.

• Employment and Small Business and Training and Skills Development, Shannon Fentiman.

• Environment and the Great Barrier Reef, Science and the Arts, Leeanne Enoch.

• Police and Minister Corrective Services, Mark Ryan.

• Communities and Minister for Disability Services and Seniors, Coralee O’Rourke. 

• Agricultural Industry Development and Fisheries, Mark Furner.

• Local Government, Racing and Multicultural Affairs, Stirling Hinchliffe.

• Child Safety, Youth and Women, and the Prevention of Domestic and Family Violence, Di Farmer.

• Fire and Emergency Services, Craig Crawford. 

Assistant Ministers

• Veterans Affairs and Assistant Minister of State, Jennifer Howard.

• Treasury, Glenn Butcher.

• State Development, Julieanne Gilbert.

• Education, Brittany Lauga.

• Tourism Industry Development, Meaghan Scanlon.


From the front page

Sponsored by