Out and about at Beaudesert’s Derby Day races

Beaudesert Racecourse hosts Derby Day meet


Take a look at the glamour and excitement at Derby Day 2017.


Beaudesert Racecourse was awash with sunshine and glamour at the 2017 Derby Day carnival.

Racecourse general manager Lisa-Marie Hartney said there was a good turnout, as expected, and both men and women went above and beyond to ensure this year’s Fashion on the Field was outstanding.

“There were some beautiful outfits, some beautiful ladies and the competition was fierce but winners were announced by unanimous decision,” she said.

“We had more than 1500 people through the gates and everybody had a great time.”

She said the winners were Rod Anderson for the men’s stallions category, Katelyn Coper for the junior fillies, Lyn McLean for the mares and Emily Folwell for the fillies.

We had 52 horses racing at Derby Day, many were local but we also had horses from the Gold Coast and Brisbane,” she said.

“Beaudesert trainer Ben Robinson had two winning horses on the day.”

Racing Australia reported only two scratchings for race one, being Lucky’s L’il Girl and Glamorgan Lad, with no late scratchings and no undeclared or late riders.

Results were as follows:

Race one:

1: Dodgies Way, trainer Darryl Hanson, jockey Jason Hoopert

2: Time to Remember, Tina Cotsiopoulos, Adam Spinks

3: Suit up Dan, Fred Adams, Chris Whitely

Race two:

1st: Overgrown, Faye Hall, Cassandra Schmidt

2nd: Capital City, Kelvin Hickmott, Bridget Rooney

3rd: Red Colour, Les Ross, Nicholas Keal

Race three:

1st: Great Grats, Bradley Hudson, Noriyuki Masuda

2nd: Sail the Stars, Wendy Bannerot, Matthew Morris

3rd: Corder, Stewart Boyd, Adam Spinks

Race four:

1st: Journalist, Ben Robinson, Alannah Badger

2nd: Ballina Bay, Bradley Hudson, Noriyuki Masuda

3rd: Ekspress King (NZ), Maryann Brosnan, Cyril Small

Race five:

1st: Champagne Rock, Ben Robinson, Shaun Bayliss

2nd: A New Sound, Matthew John Dunn, Chris Whitely

3rd: Secret Code, Darleen Durea, Bridget Rooney


From the front page

Sponsored by